1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Please help me choose - GF2 vs NEX 3

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by mxl180, Nov 22, 2011.

1. mxl180

mxl180 New to Mu-43

Nov 22, 2011
    I can get ...

-brand new GF2 with 14-42mm lens for $299 new. ( I dont really care for that lens, I read it's not great)

OR

-use Nex 3 in excellent condition - body only for $230.

I already purchased some 50mm 1.4 and 1.7 lens from ebay. I'm no camera expert. I purchased those lens to get good low light shots and portraits.

I love the look of the GF2 but only reason I'm considering the NEX-3 is bigger sensor = better night/low light shots.

Please correct me if i'm wrong!

2. krugorg

krugorg Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jul 18, 2011
    Minnesota USA
    Are you mostly interested in adapted lenses then? If that is the case, I think the Nex 3 would be a good option with its nice manual focus peaking feature.

If you actually want AF/native glass and a compact package, I think m4/3 is a better option.

3. mxl180

mxl180 New to Mu-43

Nov 22, 2011
    Yes i'm looking at affordable older but great manual lens in the aftermarket (can't afford auto).
    Thanks for that info! So it outlines what's in focused...I'm assuming it works on all aftermarket manual lens. Do you think it's difficult to get an exact focused using the GF2 led screen?

4. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    It would be better if the GF-2 had a decent EVF viewfinder, but the LVF-1 is not the best (the Oly VF-2 is much higher resolution and an excellent focusing aid). The Panasonics have a system which gives you a zoomed in box, but I'm told it doesn't give good resolution/detail in the zoom box and is therefore not as effective as the Olympus system of zooming in with the Close-Up button. I haven't had much chance to compare though, since I use the PEN system - that's just going by what I've been told.