PLEASE HELP! Black screen on new camera, need it tomorrow!

jjinh

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jul 6, 2014
Messages
57
You need a lens of some sort to see a proper image on the EVF and/or screen.
 

jlouisalmeida

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
59
The shutter speed adjust like it is receiving light but no image and it won't let me take a picture. Is there a setting I am missing? Or a way to see if it is a crap adapter or crap camera?
 

Brian Beezley

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Messages
2,092
Location
San Marcos, California
Make sure the adapter is properly seated. There should be a click when you stop turning. Gently rock it back and forth. If the pin on the camera mount doesn't extend into the recessed adapter oval, the screen will blank.

Brian
 

jlouisalmeida

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
59
Make sure the adapter is properly seated. There should be a click when you stop turning. Gently rock it back and forth. If the pin on the camera mount doesn't extend into the recessed adapter oval, the screen will blank.

Brian

ok, I think its a crap adapter. Both pins click in, but if I press the release on the adapter (to remove the 4/3 lens) and twist the lens just a bit like I'm removing it, the screen works...
 

OzRay

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Jan 29, 2010
Messages
4,991
Location
South Gippsland, Australia
Real Name
Ray, not Oz
I have one adapter that I used with my M mount lenses that did just that. It was a cheap adapter and no matter what I tried, I always got a black screen, both the LCD and EVF.
 

jlouisalmeida

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
59
Tried cleaning it off and nothing. Just overnighted the adapter I should've bought in the first place. Glad I'll have that weather seal now
 

oog

New to Mu-43
Joined
Jul 29, 2012
Messages
1
You probably also need to make sure you've enabled the setting for "shoot without lens" or something like that (sorry it's off the top of my head). It's in one of the shooting menus. I've needed that for any lenses/adaptors that don't have electrical contacts.
 

eteless

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jun 20, 2014
Messages
1,897
You probably also need to make sure you've enabled the setting for "shoot without lens" or something like that (sorry it's off the top of my head). It's in one of the shooting menus. I've needed that for any lenses/adaptors that don't have electrical contacts.

That would be a panasonic option, Olympus can shoot without lenses attached by default. The problem seems to be more that the camera is disconnecting power because the adapter isn't seating correctly.
 

Wisertime

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Joined
Aug 6, 2013
Messages
2,834
Location
Philly
Real Name
Steve
Does the viewfinder work? There is a button the the hump to switch between the VF and Screen...and default eye sensor is probably on.
 

jlouisalmeida

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
59
Ahhh! So frustrating. We have a problem again. Got the official Olympus converter and the camera is acting weird. I turned it on and it would barely focus when I half pressed the shutter, then randomly take a picture. Then after doing that a few times the screen went black like the adapter wasn't working again. Messed around with it a bit, black screen (all text on screen but no image). Messed around more and got an image again, took one picture and then no image. Wth! I'm thinking it's a bad body now...
 

jlouisalmeida

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
59
It seems like the shutter is sticking or messed up. When I take the lens off sometimes it's closed, is that normal?
 

zensu

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Aug 8, 2012
Messages
1,287
Location
Alabama USA
Real Name
Bobby
It seems like the shutter is sticking or messed up. When I take the lens off sometimes it's closed, is that normal?

You should be able to see the sensor with no lens and the camera turned on or off. If you see the sensor turn on the camera and fire the shutter several times. You will see the shutter action working. If you mount the adapter and see part or all of the shutter (no sensor) Your adapter is not working. If you're just looking at the camera with no adapter and see any or all of the shutter (no sensor) your camera is not functioning properly. I don't remember where in the menu (sold my E-M5) it is but you should be able to reset the camera to full factory reset which deletes all custom settings and returns the camera to the way it shipped from the factory. If your camera is still malfunctioning after the factory reset with no lens or adapter mounted I'd send the body back.
 

HarryS

Mu-43 All-Pro
Joined
Jun 23, 2012
Messages
1,004
Location
Midwest, USA
It seems like the shutter is sticking or messed up. When I take the lens off sometimes it's closed, is that normal?

Busted camera! The sensor is never ever closed unless the camera is shooting. That is why you cannot see anything on the VF's. It has to be open for live view. Hope that wedding is not today, as you won't be shooting video with this camera.

The reset on an EM5 shows up on the first menu screeb ubder Reset/Myset. I would be surprised if it did anything here.
 

jlouisalmeida

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Jul 7, 2014
Messages
59
The same would thing occurred with a different lens using the adapter. I do not have a m4/3 lens to test with unfortunately but if this camera wont work with my existing 4/3 lenses then I need a different one!
 

Latest posts

Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Forum GIFs powered by GIPHY: https://giphy.com/
Copyright © Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom