Please explain lenses to me on the GH2

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Decius, May 13, 2011.

1. Decius

Decius Mu-43 Rookie

May 13, 2011
    Okay, so I'm very new to interchangeable lenses, however, I now know a bit.

What I'm not clear on is listed in the following questions:

1) The Nokton 25mm f/0.95 is a manual focus - why did they not allow it to use the GH2 autofocus? Is the autofocus feature on the GH2 only compatible with panasonic lenses?

2) Are micro 4/3 lenses more expensive than other lenses of similar quality? For the lens mentioned above, for example, would it be possible to buy a cheaper lens that is sized differently and get an adapter? If so, what lens?

3) Related to 2), is using an adapted lens inherently going to be less quality than using one that is made for micro 4/3?

4) What are the most common lens mount sizes? Which ones are usually adapted to micro 4/3?

5) I've read that if you get a lens that is too wide angle you get fisheye effect - on a GH2, the mm is doubled so if you have a 20mm it will effectively be 40mm. What's the minimum mm that permits you to avoid all distortion but have the widest view, and therefore, a shallower DOF?

Thanks in advance. I just ordered the GH2 from Pana.

• Like Like x 1
  2. flash

flash Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 29, 2010
    1 hour from Sydney Australia.
    Gordon
    1. Voigtlander don't make AF lenses. They make old school simple design manual focus lenses. The high quality manual focus cam is too heavy for an af motor to drive.
    2. The only other f0.95 available currently cost around $12000.00. The CV25 is a bargain. But generally yes, m4/3 lenses are more expensive. They're also generally of a higher average optical standard as well.
    3. No. That's up to the quality of the lens/adaptor combination. However some older lenses designed for film don't do well on digital sensors.