Please explain how flashes work in m43 system

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by absolutic, May 5, 2016.

1. absolutic

absolutic Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 21, 2011
    Hi! I am a relative newbie when it comes to off camera flash interworkings in m43 system. So here are my questions and I would appreciate if someone answers them.

If I put FL300R on Olympus EM1 and FL600R (for example) off camera, will FL300R trigger FL600R in HSS mode, above 1/250 stated flash xsync? If yes, will it be in TTL? If yes to FL600R, will Nissin i40 flash work in HSS Slave mode in the same fashion?

I know Panasonic does not have "RC" function of Olympus cameras. Will the same scenario as above work on my Panasonic GX7 (I know onboard flash synchs to 1/320, but I can put FL300R on the top, and a flash like FL600R (or something else) off camera)?

Thank you!
  2. Harvey Melvin Richards

Harvey Melvin Richards Photo Posting Junkie

Feb 15, 2014
    Southwest Utah
    The FL300R will not work as a trigger, but it will work as a remote. The FL600R will work as both. And that is almost the total extent of my knowledge about flashes.

Sent from my iPad using Mu-43 mobile app
  3. absolutic

absolutic Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 21, 2011
    Oh I see. And since little flashes that come with m43 cameras only sync to 1/250 or 1/320, i don't see how you can do HSS with these :)
  4. wjiang

wjiang Mu-43 Hall of Famer

HSS (FP mode on Olympus/Panasonic) by definition goes above the normal sync speed and turns into an effectively constant light over the exposure rather than a single carefully synchronised pulse. Olympus and Panasonic use the same flash control system, some of the flashes are even rebadges of each other. Your GX7 should support RC mode, check the manual.