Photoshop or Lightroom?

Discussion in 'Image Processing' started by runner girl, Jan 5, 2012.

1. runner girl

runner girl Mu-43 Regular

Nov 26, 2011
    Have been using Picassa for years. I also have Photoshop Elements 3 but found it was too difficult to master for my limited use. I'm now taking 150-200 photos a day and think I need to move my processing up a step. I'm inclined to go with Lightroom but there are no classes locally. Any tips as to resources for me and/or whether to select Lightroom vs Photoshop Elements?

2. tanngrisnir3

tanngrisnir3 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 18, 2011
    Oi. Tough question.

I use LR for everything I do (when my main processing computer isn't crapped out, anyhow) and am self-taught. Once you get used to the relative complexity of the sliders and their purposes, there are innumerable and invaluable free tutorials on youtube for things that aren't intuitive, like 'split toning', etc....

For reference, I put down the money and took a 3 month Photoshop class from a relatively famous guy in LA last spring. Great guy, good teacher, class slowed down by a number of factors.

Although I know how, I almost never use PS. Why bother?

3. GaryAyala

GaryAyala Mu-43 Legend

Jan 2, 2011
    SoCal
    Many photogs, including myself, use multiple programs for processing. I use Aperture (others use LR for RAW conversion and global manipulations and PS for selective manipulations and final polishing.

G

4. Chuck Pike

Chuck Pike Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 3, 2010
    Charlotte, NC.
    go with LR