Photos that inspire or move us

Djarum

Super Moderator
Real Name
Jason
So, this is somewhat of an extension of the thread titled "inspiration".

Much of what I would consider my "better" photography is completly situational in that, the moment itself is inspiring or moves me. Many times, however, we take those pictures that just aren't keepers.

Like good music moves us, makes us feel, pictures can do the same. But I find myself, looking at my own pictures, and pictures spread all across the interweb, that just don't move me.

So, what I'd like from the forum members is to post a picture, which maybe yours or from someone else's gallery, that moves you. I'd also like to know "why" it moves you.

The reason I ask, is I wonder how many times that there are photos that we take that we try to make too technical, or conversly, photos that move us that don't follow the traditional rules of photography.

squeegee

Mu-43 Veteran
I have to admit that I'm a photographer of chance. I take a million photos and pick out the ... 2 that I think are good.

It is totally true what you say about emotions though. When I look at photos, my own or anyone elses, all I really care about is if it gives me a feeling - mostly happy feelings, for some reaons sad feeling photos are categorised differently for me

I must admit though I don't often see the feeling until after I download the image to my computer. The LCD is not good enough on the e-p1 to really see much except framing.

I find that if I take photos doing things I'm passionate about it helps a lot. When I go out to "take photos" it just doesn't work for me. I'm sure I get better at the technical aspects of photography but I never catch any emotions. When I just carry my camera around while I'm doing things I enjoy - those I can usually find pictures to keep.