Photography Related Quotes

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by phigmov, Jul 4, 2013.

1. phigmov

phigmov Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 4, 2010
    I've been reading a few photography related books recently and have come across some thoughtful quotes.

I thought it might be nice to start a thread for people to post their own favourites to share with others.

So my starter for ten is by a photographer I hadn't even heard of until today but sadly passed away recently -

'I'm not a female, I'm a photographer.'
    - Helen Brush Jenkins

More information here -

Helen Brush Jenkins dies at 94; pioneering photojournalist -
  2. greyelm

greyelm Mu-43 Veteran

Aug 28, 2010
    From the movie "Blow Up" 1966

"Jane: What are you doing? Stop it! Stop it! Give me those pictures. You can't photograph people like that.
    Thomas: Who says I can't? I'm only doing my job. Some people are bullfighters, some people are politicians. I'm a photographer."
  3. phigmov

phigmov Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 4, 2010
    I find this pne quite profound - I wonder if digital archeology will, in the future, find these artefacts in the absence of physical prints/negs ?

"They are proof that something was there and no longer is. Like a stain. And the stillness of them is boggling. You can turn away but when you come back they'll still be there looking at you."

- Diane Arbus on photo's
  4. RnR

RnR Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 25, 2011
    Brisbane, Australia
    Seen in an ebay ad for a lens;

"It is a scientifically proven fact that photography will help you live longer!"

Sounds legit...
  5. GaryAyala

GaryAyala Mu-43 Legend

Jan 2, 2011
    "If your pictures aren't good enough, you're not close enough." - Robert Capa - (before he got too close to a mine that killed him while covering the Indochina War).
  6. GeBathan

GeBathan Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 11, 2012
    Los Angeles CA
    "The quickest way to make money at photography is to sell your camera." - Anonymous
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Savas K