1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Photographing in the winter

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by luiztakei, Dec 25, 2012.

1. luiztakei

luiztakei Mu-43 Regular

Dec 13, 2012
    Luiz
    Hi, I am new to photography and I was trying to get some information about taking pictures during winter but couldn't find a source that seems reliable and complete. So I would like to ask people's opinions here:

1) For the camera itself, is it ok to go out and shoot when it is -10°C (14°F) or even -15°C (5°F)?

2) I heard that batteries don't like the cold weather. If I only have one battery, what should I do?

3) Is it ok to leave the camera on (sleep mode maybe) as I walk on the streets in the winter?

4) Any other tips?

Thank you in advance!

2. clockwise

clockwise Mu-43 Regular

Apr 23, 2012
    New York, NY
    Brian R
    Welcome to photography! It's a lot of fun, right? Here are some answers to your questions:

3. Ned

Ned Mu-43 Legend

Jul 18, 2010
    Alberta, Canada
    Can I start off by saying that -10°C to -15°C isn't even cold for a system camera? I wouldn't even worry about it... these aren't like point-and-shoots.

This may be a touchy thing to say on a public forum, but in all honesty this is one place I wouldn't even trust your owner's manual. Most will give a ridiculous cold temperature limitation like 0°C or something, probably for warranty claims as there is no system camera which can't take the temperatures they list. Especially with the weather-sealed systems, which have no problems being frozen in the arctic.

The ziploc bag suggestion to avoid condensation is always a good idea. You also won't find a better investment than a spare battery.