1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Photo composition at an early age

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by Robert Watcher, Aug 17, 2013.

1. Robert Watcher

Robert Watcher Mu-43 Top Veteran

I knew in the back of my mind that I had taken a couple of photographs of my parents when I was quite young - that I was quite pleased with, because of the moody soft look in the small 3" print. My mother never liked it because it was "blurry and not very good".

I haven't seen the pictures since I was a teenager I think. Last night I was at my parents house and she had pulled them out. They were just as I remembered - soft moody low warm lighting. Mom had cut the white borders off and had only the originals (far more faded and soft by now), and so I took them outside in the sun and copied them with my Olympus Pen camera.

Now that I have been shooting portrait work for so many years, I noticed different things in the photos. First - here are some of the details:

These photos were taken in the summer of 1965 when I was 8 years old. My parents, my younger sister and I were on a ferry heading to Manitoulin Island. My mom always had her Kodak Instamatic with her. Because of the cost of film and developing, I was never really allowed to take pictures as it would be a waste of precious few frames.

On this evening, I insisted that I take a picture of the two of them. When we went outside, the sunlight was low and there was a mist in the air. I took the shots and then anxiously waited until mom got them back. I was in love with the images that I had captured and never forgot them.