Paper choice for inkjet printing

Discussion in 'Printing' started by hanzo, Jul 19, 2012.

1. hanzo

hanzo Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 22, 2010
    Chan
    I'm currently using cotton based fine art paper for printing.
    Just curious what are other people using / prefer and what kind of picture you are printing.

2. Conrad

Conrad Mu-43 Veteran

I'm relatively new to printing digitally. I have an Epson 3880 since a week. I ordered Ilford Galerie pearl and Gold Fiber Silk as the first papers. Impressive colors and blackness. The blackness on these semi-gloss papers seems to be higher than glossy chemical paper. Still need to try a glossy paper on the inkjet, though.

3. jyc860923

jyc860923 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 28, 2012
    Shenyang, China
    贾一川
    I'm using the glossy paper but I'm willing to try RC next time. the problems I've found with glossy paper is that it gets scratched, and colour is rendered differently with different brands so I guess RC should be better.

4. hanzo

hanzo Mu-43 Veteran

Jan 22, 2010
    Chan
    I think IGFS is one of the most referred paper in the printing industry :biggrin:
    Wonderful result with slight warm tone.. its a bit expensive though

5. Hikari

Hikari Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 26, 2010
    Depends. I am using a cheap photo glossy paper, a glossy Baryta fiber (which is really nice), and an enhanced adhesive matte.

6. cmpatti

cmpatti Mu-43 Veteran

May 8, 2011
    Berkeley, CA