1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Panny GH2 or G3

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by Sugarman, Jun 28, 2011.

1. Sugarman

Sugarman Mu-43 Regular

Jan 21, 2011
    Hi everyone

earlier today I was reading a thread where a member doubted between a G3 and a GF3.

My doubt is regarding getting a G3 or a GH2.

I am currently happy with my G1 but I would like to upgrade to a better sensor. I am not interested in video and portrait work is my main interest in photography.

I see that the G3 is obviously an imporvement but at the cost of some loss, swivel screen. EV etc. I am by no means a novice now and would like to head into something that is going to allow me to be more creative and demand more from me as a photographer.

Now that some time has elapsed since both models have been on the market I would apprecite comments from users on their experiences with the cameras.

A few questions also. I have a Metz 48A flash for the G1 and presume this would fit both models. Correct?

I am a keen user of prime adapted lenses and would be very pleased if members could let me know about their experiences using such lenses on either model.

My thanks in advance

Joe

2. Pelao

Pelao Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 3, 2010
    Ontario, Canada
    Not sure what you mean hear regarding the loss? The G3 has a swivel screen.

A key difference between the two is that the GH2 has a connection for an external microphone - but since you are not into video that's not a big deal. The G3 has fewer direct external controls, but for the most commonly used functions there are dedicated buttons, plus two buttons you can assign as you wish.

For still photography, I cannot imagine a benefit to the GH2 over the G3, but others may take a different view.

3. carpandean

carpandean Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 29, 2010
    Western NY