1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Panasonic X 45-175 final verdict? Just get 45-200 instead?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by chad, May 8, 2012.

1. chad

chad New to Mu-43

May 8, 2012
    New York
    Chad
    Hi all,

I hate to bring up again what I noticed was a hotly debated topic a few months ago but I couldn't tell by searching the forums whether there was a definite resolution to the question of X 45-175 OIS / blurriness problems.

I'm new to micro 4/3 and was hoping to get a zoom lens before a trip this summer and was tempted by the light weight and relatively discrete size (?) of the X lens but might just get the 45-200 since it may be more of a sure thing.

Any advice from happy or disgruntled X 45-175 users (or others) would be great!

thanks,
    Chad

2. Jonathan F/2

Jonathan F/2 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 10, 2011
    Los Angeles, CA
    Which camera body are you using?

The safe bet is the 45-200 OIS, which is relatively cheaper. The 45-175 X lens is sort of a toss up. Optically it's very sharp with excellent contrast and sharpness across the focal range. Though OIS issues is really dependent on your camera brand/body.

3. chad

chad New to Mu-43

May 8, 2012
    New York
    Chad
    Sorry, should have mentioned that: I'm using a GX1

4. drewbot

drewbot Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 21, 2011
    Toronto, ON
    I haven't kept up with the whole OIS issues, however, it would really like the 45-175 X. It's a smaller lens and has internal focusing.

One issue, as Jon mentioned, is the brand/body that you use. I *think* Oly bodies disable OIS off the bat (to be confirmed) when there is no OIS switch.

5. Jonathan F/2

Aug 10, 2011
    Los Angeles, CA