Panasonic OEM Battery vs. After Market Battery

Discussion in 'This or That?' started by xxjorelxx, Dec 17, 2012.

1. xxjorelxx

xxjorelxx Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 11, 2012
    MD, USA
    Hi all,
    Im still fairly new to all this and was hoping for some advice. I am expecting to recieve a newly bought GH2 this week and I was thinking of buying an extra battery for it but i'm having issues trying to decide on whether or not I should buy an OEM Panasonic Battery or just opt for one of those aftermarket batteries that are normally found for a few dollars cheaper. Naturaly i'm inclined to think that buying OEM is always better but the budget is tight these days and I could sure save a few dollars here and there. From anyones experience, is there anything I have to worry about when deciding on what brand battery to buy or does it really not even matter? Things that im worried about are pretty much battery life, and charge. If these aftermarket battieries perform just as good as OEM batteries, I might as well just save some money and get one of those. Thanks in advance for any recommendations or suggestions.
  2. Joon525

Joon525 Mu-43 Regular

Sep 24, 2012
    I forgot what brand of aftermarket battery I have but my GX1 came with it (bought it used) as a spare. Since then I've also bought a used OEM battery as an additional backup.
    I never once caught myself out shooting and had anything negative happen that I could pin down on the aftermarket battery. I'm not saying there will NEVER be something negative but so far it's been perfectly fine.
    I will get the name of the maker and edit this post when I get home tonight.

(I guess the middle ground to your decision making process is to buy a used OEM battery.)

Edit: I looked but cannot even find a brand name on the battery.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. kinlau

kinlau Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 29, 2012