Panasonic GX7 Underexposure

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by L0n3Gr3yW0lf, Sep 6, 2015.

1. L0n3Gr3yW0lf

L0n3Gr3yW0lf Mu-43 Regular

Jul 31, 2013
    Romania
    Ovidiu
    As I am still learning how to use my new Panasonic GX7 I discovered that after I took any image, no EV changes, after importing it in Lightroom the exposure changes to underexpose by about half a stop darker when I try to open an image in Develop. Is this an issue with Lightroom not reading the exposure correctly or is it the GX7 metering to save highlights and in playback it shows a brighter image ? I find it very strange but not a big concern, at the moment, since the IQ of the sensor is very good, for my needs.

2. tkbslc

tkbslc Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Contrast and color settings can change the histogram a bit. Lightroom does not use the in camera processing settings as you'd see them displayed on the camera LCD. So you can apply a different default settings in lightroom or use a more natural color profile in the GX7.

• Appreciate Appreciate x 1
  3. L0n3Gr3yW0lf

Jul 31, 2013
    Romania
    Ovidiu
    Thanks ... I use Vivid profile, but I though it applys only on JPEG, not RAW. And even on RAW I see the image getting darker

4. palombasso

palombasso Mu-43 Regular

Jan 31, 2014
    It's probably the I.dynamic function.
    I had this problem with this setting on auto.
    It seems the camera knows how much post processing it will do to the jpg and adjusts the exposure accordingly.

My Nikon d5000 had a similar setting, which affected only jpgs but had influence on the metering of the camera.

5. svenkarma

svenkarma Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 5, 2013
    mark evans
    Yeah I've noticed this too but presumed it was just Lightroom loading the camera's thumbnail image first before accessing the RAW file.

6. Ricoh

Ricoh Mu-43 Top Veteran

Nov 2, 2013
    UK
    Steve
    I think it does underexpose, I've noticed that and compensate at exposure time.

7. Bif

Bif Mu-43 Veteran