Panasonic GX1 Wide lens options

msammut

Mu-43 Rookie
Hey guys,

I'm very new in the whole camera scene and got myself a GX1.

The main thing i need the wide angle lens for is fishing photography and also to do some landscape shots when i'm away on fishing trips.

I know there are the two current options of the panasonic 7-14 and the Olympus 9 - 18 but i really need something that can use a good CPL Filter (which the panasonic cant) and was hoping for something a bit wider and a higher F stop than F4.0 (hopefully in the 2's) as for the fishing photos i really like the shallow depth of field and a fast lens.

If there are any other branded lens's that will fit the camera that would be great.

Thanks, Michael

bilzmale

Mu-43 All-Pro
You have pretty much summed it up Michael unless you go for a fisheye (but these won't take filters. I had a 7-14 but sold it for a cheaper 9-18. Also have a Samyang 7.5mm fish eye. They are all special purpose lenses.

msammut

Mu-43 Rookie
Yehh i've been doing heaps of research on it but i stumbled across this forum last night and its awesome! thought i'd give it a try on here as i learned about the adapters and things like that.

The fisheye lens dont really give me the effect i'm after as it will round the fish and can throw the image off a bit.

The panasonic would be perfect but its only the filter that puts me off.

T

TDP

- A few people have fab'ed up a square filter holder for the 7-14. Do a search here or online and you will see their DIY efforts.

- Due to the way a m43 meters (from what I understand), a regular polarizer will work just fine. They cost less than circular polarizers.

- If you are shooting landscapes, a polarizer on an ultra wide angle lens will screw up the sky. A graduated ND may be a better option and they cost less than a polarizer of either type.

msammut

Mu-43 Rookie