panasonic g3.

Discussion in 'Help and Feedback' started by manta63, Jul 26, 2012.

1. manta63

manta63 Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 26, 2012
    Hello i am an absolute beginner and i would appreciate some advice on lenses. I recently purchased a Panasonic g3 with a 14-42 and a 45-200mm telephoto. Need some help with additional lens purchase.

Appreciate any help, best regards. manat63.
  2. Uwharrie

Uwharrie Mu-43 Veteran

May 10, 2012
    North Carolina
    Lynne Ezzell
    That is a good start. Lens will depend on what you want to shoot. You might want to add a 20mm pancake.
  3. rgeorge911

rgeorge911 Mu-43 Regular

Jan 8, 2012

I agree, you have a very good start. The 45-200 is a great lens. And, I agree that you may want the 20mm f1.7.

If you're interested, I run a daily blog focused on Lumix photography, and use the G3 as my standard camera body. In fact, I have written an eBook, posted on the blog (free download), which goes through all of the important settings on the G3, and explains how and why I set each one the way I do.

I hope that's helpful.

The eBook can be found at:

DMC-365 - My Year with Lumix Camera Equipment: Final Two Chapters of My Free G3 Settings eBook Available For Download! Get the Whole eBook Here, Free!

My Lumix Blog:
  4. manta63

manta63 Mu-43 Rookie

Jul 26, 2012
    Thank you for your advice.

Best regards

5. meyerweb

meyerweb Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Sep 5, 2011
    As others suggested, the lenses to buy really depend on what you want to use the camera for. The 20mm f/1.7 is great for indoor use without flash (as is the 25mm f/1.4). But not much good for wildlife or birding. A 100-300 might be great for wildlife, but not much use indoors. Do you wish you had something wider than your 14-42? You might want to look at the Oly 9-18 or the Panasonic 7-14.