1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Panasonic G3 - My first Lens purchase

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by knightsy, Jun 13, 2012.

1. knightsy

knightsy New to Mu-43

Nov 9, 2011
    Now that I have got to grips with my G3 (love it!) and its kit lens (14-42mm for me) I've decided to get a new lens to practise/play/learn with.

This is spurred on by a recent trip up a mountain and a coming trip to Japan. Based on the latter my thinking is to get a wide angle lens.

From what I read I have 3 choices, but I would be interested for any other suggestions. Quality without going ridiculously expensive is the thought here...

1. Panasonic Lumix G 7-14mm f/4
    ~£860

2. Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 9-18mm f/4-5.6
    - Seems hard to get in the UK, maybe about £500, but could be more

3. Olympus M.Zuiko Digital 12mm f/2
    ~ £600

The panny lens is dubbed ultra wide angle, I am relatively new to all this - should that worry me - or actually I imagine I will enjoy such a different lenses to the one I have?

Any suggestions very much appreciated, near £900 is alot of money but then if I want quality I guess it's worth it!

Thanks!
    Adam

2. danska

danska Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 21, 2012
    Portland, OR
    Joe
    From all my research so far I would pick the Oly 12 out of the bunch. The fast aperture and manual focus snapshot focus system make are big pluses for me, many would agree it's one of the best m4/3 lenses. My second choice would be the 7-14, but the cost is a bit deterring.

I bought my GX1 with the 14mm lens and for how cheap and great that lens is I'm not going to focus on the wider angle lenses at this point. I am addicted to the fast prime system though, it really depends on your style of shooting.

• Like Like x 1
  3. kevwilfoto

kevwilfoto Mu-43 Veteran

Sep 23, 2011
    Colorado