1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Panasonic G1 still decent?

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by dixeyk, Dec 16, 2012.

1. dixeyk

dixeyk Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 9, 2010
    I have a lens up for sale and trade in the buy/sell area and I thought I might use it as a way to get back into m43. I moved to NEX as it better suited my photographic needs and while that still holds true I am selling off some gear and I thought I might use this opportunity to pick up an m43 body or lens. I prefer Panasonic G bodies for their controls, UI and the articulating LCD (the main thing I wish my 5n had).

I have gotten a few offers thus far about G1's and I have never used one before. I assume it will be very similar to my G2 (my all time favorite m43 body) except for the thumb wheel becoming and index finger wheel and no video. The lack of video is not an issue as my 5n and X10 both have HD video. As I recall my G2 started to struggle with anything over ISO 800. Is that the same with the G1? Also what are folks general thoughts about the G1. My inclination is that it is perfectly fine for my uses. The m43 camera will probably end up with one native lens and live it's life as backup body.

2. MAubrey

MAubrey Photographer

Jul 9, 2012
    Bellingham, WA
    Mike Aubrey
    Image quality is going to be virtually the same between the G2 and the G1. I had both for a month.

3. dixeyk

Aug 9, 2010