1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Panasonic 35-100 vs Oly 45/1.8, 75/1.8

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by kuau, Jan 13, 2013.

1. kuau

kuau Mu-43 Regular

Oct 17, 2011
    I am new to the m3d world and trying to decide which would be a better purchase.
    I shoot mostly landscape using my OM-D I shoot at F4 and F5.6
    Corner sharpness is critical and I shoot 90% of the time at infinity.

I currently have the Oly 45/1.8 which is great and was considering purchasing the Oly 75/1.8 also.

Then I started thinking about the Pana 35-100 zoom.
    Price wise the Pana zoom would cost me 100.00 more then the Oly 45/1.8 and the 75/1.8

Any suggestions?

Steven

2. jloden

jloden Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 15, 2012
    Hunterdon County, NJ
    Jay
    I would say it comes down to whether you need/want the flexibility of the zoom mainly. I do own both lenses but haven't shot all that much with the 35-100mm yet (though I have with the 12-35mm f/2.8 which is comparable). They're both going to be high quality lenses so it's not as if one is a "bad" choice.

That said, 75mm is cheaper than the zoom and it's an incredibly sharp & high resolving lens. Even without looking at the test numbers, I can say with confidence the 75mm is almost certainly the sharper of the two. Obviously lenses perform differently at infinity and corner sharpness levels but my money is still on the Olympus. It's been touted by some as possibly the sharpest lens ever made, so that should tell you something :smile:

If you're only shooting on a tripod at f/4 and f/5.6 then OIS won't matter to you, and you've got IBIS anyway. So really only thing the zoom has going for it is the flexibility over the range, which you may or may not care about - particularly if taking time to swap lenses isn't a big deal for you.

• Like Like x 1
  3. dornblaser

dornblaser Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 13, 2012
    Chicago-area
    David Dornblaser