1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Panasonic 30mm Macro - thoughts?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by D@ne, May 21, 2015.

1. D@ne

D@ne Mu-43 Top Veteran

Feb 23, 2012
    Toronto
    I'm new to macro. I've recently sold off my collection of lenses to downsize. For one reason or another, they were not getting used, and now I feel I may have gone too far.

Sold were Panny 12-35; Panny 45-175; and PanLeica 25 (my most used).

I've realized that I'm only interested in 2 things - portability, a "normal" focal length, and price.

So this 30mm macros has been released, is sub-$500, the right focal length (pretty much), and has the added bonuses of built-in stabilization, and can take macro shots. I realize the length is a bit short for macro, but it's the best I've got.

The one doubt I have is that the Oly 25 is smaller, lighter, cheaper, and has a wider aperture (1.8 vs 2.8).

What to do? Thoughts? Opinions? I tend to be a casual photog - pics of pets, friends, inside & out, currently have an EM5.

2. sdb123

sdb123 Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 25, 2014
    Northants, UK
    Steve
    That's three things. :blush:

I'm not sure I've seen any real world views of the 30mm lens (has it been released yet?)...how seriously are you into macro, do you need a dedicated lens? The Olympus 25mm works well with extension rings, which would be a lot cheaper and you get to keep your current lens.

3. tkbslc

tkbslc Mu-43 Hall of Famer

I don't think you'd be very satisfied with the 30mm as your main "normal" primes for 3 reasons:

1) It's not a small lens. It's bigger than the PL25mm by a fair margin. Macro focusing requires moving the elements a lot farther than regular focus so the lens has to be longer. Size comparison: http://camerasize.com/compact/#289.459,289.352,289.411,ha,t