1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Panasonic 20mm/1.7 noise and other questions

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by Gusnyc, Mar 12, 2010.

1. Gusnyc

Gusnyc Mu-43 Veteran

Mar 9, 2010
    New York
    Hi Everybody!

First of all, I apologize if this is a ridiculous question. I am totally new in this world of exchangeable lenses. Any help/suggestion will be more than welcomed.

I just received my new 20mm/f1.7 lens for my E-PL1. Being a Panasonic lens, there is anything I have to adjust in the settings to make it work correctly in my E-PL1?

I just tried a few shots with it, but I got a little scared of the noise this lens makes. I can hear a "tic-tic-tic" every time the aperture changes plus the sound of the motor. Is that normal? That doesn't happen with the other lens (the one that came with the camera).

I also read there was an update for the lens. If that is the case, where can I get that update and how do I apply it?

BTW, it surprised me that I had to apply quite a force to lock the lens in the camera. I tried a couple of times because I thought I was doing something wrong. It doesn't lock as smooth as the Zuiko lens.

Thanks for your help.

Gus

2. bashar

bashar Mu-43 Regular

Mar 3, 2010
    hello there, dont worry about the noise its very normal, but annoying for video recording!
    you can update it through the olympus master software connect the camera to the computer with an internet connection..... the lens firmware should say 1.1 , you can check that in the camera...
    the lens should lock smoothly, hmmm! cant comment on this one?!

• Like Like x 1
  3. BBW

BBW Super Moderator Emeritus

I'm confused. The 20mm has an update or the camera? My lens on the E-P2 doesn't seem to make any noise at all...that or I've lost my hearing.

• Like Like x 1
  4. bashar

bashar Mu-43 Regular

Mar 3, 2010