Panasonic 20 f/1.7 with EM-10ii

I am new to MFT, having recently bought an Olympus OM-D EM10ii. My goal was to put together a lightweight walkaround rig that I could use for general travel photography. After doing hours of reading on small lenses, I pulled the trigger today on the Panasonic 20mm f/1.7 ll.
It seems like that is a pretty popular lens for that camera, and there were plenty of examples, on this site an elsewhere, of pictures that looked really good (color, contrast, sharpness), at least to my eye.
I am slightly concerned about the banding issue, but I think that occurs in much higher ISO's than I will be using. Most of what I read was from 2016 or prior; it seems like there wasn't much info about it that was more recent.
It should be here Friday, and I am amazed that the camera, lens, and bag (Think Tank Digital Holster 5) combined weighs in at 28 ounces.
Does anyone have any recent experience with this lens? As in, just got it a few months ago, or just got one? Since most of what I could find about it was a couple years ago, I just wanted to see how someone liked it, or had issues with banding, if it was recently acquired.
TL;DR version: if you just bought a Panasonic 20mm 1.7 how do you like it?

Last edited:

pellicle

Mu-43 Hall of Famer
Real Name
pellicle
.... After doing hours of reading on small lenses, I pulled the trigger today on the Panasonic 20mm f/1.7 ll.
...TL;DR version: if you just bought a Panasonic 20mm 1.7 how do you like it?

or actually far more importantly than what I think of mine, what do you think of yours? (or are you attempting to preempt some sort of buyers remorse?)

PS: try S-AF vs C-AF in high ISO stills to see how much influence that has on any "banding" (I have Panasonic cameras and so all the issues don't apply to me)

ADemuth

Mu-43 Veteran
... and will the custard be powerdered, proper egg yolk or premade in a carton "ready to pour".

Doesn't matter. Just give me my pudding.