Panasonic 14mm 2.5 or 20mm 1.7

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by ejackso1, Aug 18, 2013.

1. ejackso1

ejackso1 Mu-43 Regular

Dec 26, 2012
    I just can't decide.

I'm new to the MFT system- I'm moving away from my Canon DSLR and just recently sold my Canon EF 28mm 1.8 in order to fund a Panasonic GF1 (which I bought used on Amazon for $115 shipped) and a lens. The problem is, I really don't know which of these two lenses I want to purchase. This will be my only lens for the foreseeable future, so I want to make the right choice here.

I've seen amazing shots come out of the 20mm, with great blurred backgrounds at 1.7. I'm also pretty impressed with the shots I see coming out of the 14mm, it's not as fast but the focal length is nice and wide and as someone who goes to large conventions it'd be nice to never miss a shot just because the room was crowded and I couldn't stand far enough away. The 14mm is also smaller and will make the camera easier to carry around.

I was able to sell my 28mm Canon for $350, and subtracting the $115 that I paid for the GF1, leaves me with $235. That's more than enough to fund a brand new 14mm parted from a GF2/GF3 kit, but not quite enough for a used 20mm. I have the extra money to spend if necessary, but I'm hesitant.

As you can probably tell, I'm leaning heavily towards the 14mm. However I can't help but think that I may be disappointed having only f/2.5 after coming from an f/1.8 lens on a APS-C DSLR.

What do you experienced MFT shooters think?

2. dcassat

dcassat Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 16, 2011
    Cloverdale,CA
    I have both and use both for DIFFERENT purposes. If I knew I would only have one of them for a while I would buy the 20mm because its focal length will render 40mm focal length which is closer to "normal."

If you said you were a landscape shooter and loved to shoot wide than the 14mm would be a better choice being a "normal wide." FL.