Panasonic 14-45 vs. Olympus 12-50mm

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by maflynn, May 7, 2012.

1. maflynn

maflynn Mu-43 Regular

May 7, 2012
    New member here, and I'm fairly new to the MFT world as well.

I am a proud owner of the Olympus OMD with the 12-50mm kit lens. I'll be heading for a trip to Disney World next week and I'm struggling to decide what lenses to bring (and/or buy).

I have the Panasonic 20mm f1.7 which I have on my camera 80 to 90% of the time. I was debating whether to buy the olympus 45mm prime lens for the trip, but I think because of the issues of a crowded park. A standard zoom lens will work the best.

Long story short, is it worth buying the Panasonic 14-45 or should I stick with the Olympus 12-50mm. I've been using the Oly lens yesterday and while the sun was bright and causing reflections I saw a fair amount of chromatic aberrations and not as sharp as I normally see in the 20mm lens.

Given the price and complete overlapping focal length, I'm not sure how much better the panasonic will be over the Oly. btw, I'm not terribly concerned about the weather sealing - I generally protect my equipment pretty well, so its not a huge factor.

Any advice on the Panasonic 14-45mm? To put it another way, is the Olympus 12-50mm pretty close to the sharpness of the Pany, so much so that its not worth spending 300 on a lens that I already have the focal length covered?
  2. Rob917

Rob917 Mu-43 Regular

Jul 18, 2011
    jacksonville, florida usa
    I have the 14-45mm lens and I'm really impressed by the sharpness of the lens. This is borne out by a number of reviews. I can't speak to the Olympus 12-50mm.
    There is 14-45mm image forum on this site. You might want to check that out.
    On the other hand I wish the 14-45mm was a little wider (like 12mm) for what I like to shoot.
  3. xdayv

xdayv Color Blind

Aug 26, 2011
    Tacloban City, Philippines