1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Panasonic 100-300mm not long enough, now what?

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by Tadgh78, Oct 19, 2014.

1. Tadgh78

Tadgh78 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 25, 2013
    Ireland
    Hello all. I'm still quite new to photography.About 6 months ago I picked up a panasonic 100-300 for wildlife. The problem is I still find it quite short most of the time for things like herons and squirrels which won't let me get too close. There are no longer native lenses on m43 and I don't want to give up auto focus.

Therefor I'm thinking of trying one of the screw thread tele-converters like the Olympus C-180 or Raynox DCR-2025 2.2x and there are others. Does anyone have any experience of using any of these conversion lenses on the 100-300? And was it a success?

Thank you,

Tadgh

2. pellicle

pellicle Mu-43 All-Pro

Feb 10, 2010
    Southport, OzTrailEYa
    pellicle
    Get closer

Seriously anything longer than effective 600mm will need to be stratospheric quality optics AND require attention to detail on your end for camera shake issues. Think excellent tripod and mirror lockup .

I just compared a 600mm mirror lens with my 300mm f4 and found that crop then upscale of the 300 worked better.

Then there is the problem of atmosphere ... it erodes telephoto image quality the more of it you look through.

All these are done with a manual focus no OIS 300mm
    https://www.flickr.com/search/?w=63096645@N00&q=300

The issue is your technique. Which is good because that can be improved for free :)

• Like Like x 3
  3. mattia

mattia Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 3, 2012
    The Netherlands
    Well, you can work on technique now, and then buy the 300/4.0 and 1.4 teleconverter when it comes out.

Or if you're rich, an e-m1 will play nice with the 43 300/2.8 and 2.0x TC...

• Like Like x 1
  4. phigmov

phigmov Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 4, 2010
    • Like Like x 1
  5. OzRay

OzRay Mu-43 Legend

Jan 29, 2010