P3 PL3 PM1: dark situations settings and strategies

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by pheaukus, Jul 2, 2012.

1. pheaukus

pheaukus Mu-43 Regular

Jun 22, 2012
    Hi,

I am new to the PEN PL3 and wonder, what are your strategies for getting the best images (or image quality) out of dark situations?

So far I tried the following:

• Bright
      Use ISO up to 1600, NR off, IS on if needed
      (even though the pain begins around ISO 800)
    • Darker, NR on
      ISO up to 3200, apply low NR and sharpening
    • Darker, B+W
      Switch to Monochrome, ISO up to 3200
    • Darkest, Grainy B+W
      ISO up to 6400, Grainy B+W art filter
    I am not very happy with the outcomes of the latter three scenarios.
    I do understand that they are good for different types of shooting and and that I have to find out how to use each of them best.
    Still, I hope that with little tricks one can push the limits of each scenario.

Questions:
    1. What are your camera settings for dealing with low light?
    2. What are the effects of over- or underexposing on noise, detail, shadows and highlights?
    3. Are there ways to change how the camera deals with its dynamic range?
    4. What else can be done?
    5. How do these settings affect your shooting?

Answers to above questions, so far:
    1. Camera settings for dealing with low light
      A: Beyond what can be read in the manual, there are no magic tricks. Much more can be achieved by improved use (see answers to 2, 3 and 4)

2. Effects of over- or underexposing on noise, detail, shadows and highlights
      A: there is more information in the highlights, so your goal is to expose as far to the right as possible if you want maximum headroom (ETTR)