Overexposure when using flash with MF lenses

gcogger

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
412
Location
UK
Real Name
Graeme
Has anyone tried using a flash with an old, adapted, manual focus lens on a u4/3 camera? When I do this on my Panasonic G1, using the onboard flash, most of the pictures are grossly overexposed (say 2 stops typically). Is it just me?
 

Streetshooter

Administrator Emeritus
Joined
Dec 15, 2009
Messages
5,138
Location
Phila, Pa USA
I use a Nikon SB22s on top of my Pens.
Say at ISO 200 it calls for f5.6. I will use f8.
I also keep my cameras at -.3 EV.
This helps. I have some flash shots in my gallery.

I would suggest using the G1 in M mode.
Set say 1/125 and test each aperture to see what gives the desired result. Then use the shutter speed to get the background where you want it.
 

photoSmart42

Mu-43 Top Veteran
Joined
Feb 12, 2010
Messages
628
Location
San Diego, CA
Has anyone tried using a flash with an old, adapted, manual focus lens on a u4/3 camera? When I do this on my Panasonic G1, using the onboard flash, most of the pictures are grossly overexposed (say 2 stops typically). Is it just me?
The flash in MF mode isn't really doing anything but full power output. It's certainly not TTL-ing anything, and even setting the flash exposure level doesn't seem to make a difference. I found that out the hard way using the in-camera flash as fill lighting for my macro work. I put a home-made diffuser by the lens, and made the issue go away. Now I can shoot with the in-camera flash at full power, and take perfectly exposed photos at 1/160 in daylight.
 

gcogger

Mu-43 Veteran
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
412
Location
UK
Real Name
Graeme
Yes, fill flash was what I was trying to get. It sounds like it will be rather hit and miss using the on-camera flash, whatever I do. Oh well, I'm using old fashioned manual lenses, so I may as well try and find an old fashioned manual flash to go with them :)

I wonder why the camera can't do some sort of TTL flash metering with a manual lens?
 

so 650

Mu-43 Rookie
Joined
Dec 19, 2010
Messages
10
bump ... and do other m4/3 cameras handle this better?

I've been struggling with this issue as well with adapted lenses on a G1. The flash doesn't give the impression of doing any metering, just full power. For static subjects I can slowly experiment to get it right, but for moving targets (kids) it ain't working.

Do any of the micro 4/3 cameras handle this better?
 

iliakoltsov

Mu-43 Regular
Joined
Aug 7, 2010
Messages
195
Location
Paris
As you guys suggested, G1 doesn't meter properly , but you can change Flash intensity manually ( if you are using the internal flash) or and external compatible with m4/3. It did cause me grief , but by going to around f11 and ev -2 i get a decent enough result. this setting varies i always do a test shot before hand. TTL cannot be done as far as i know you do not input your focal length and you aperture since then it is impossible to adjust the flash intensity with legacy lenses on M4/3 .
 
Links on this page may be to our affiliates. Sales through affiliate links may benefit this site.
Mu-43 is a fan site and not associated with Olympus, Panasonic, or other manufacturers mentioned on this site.
Forum post reactions by Twemoji: https://github.com/twitter/twemoji
Copyright © 2009-2019 Amin Forums, LLC
Top Bottom