1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

OT - *Sharp* MFT WA Lens for Landscapes?

Discussion in 'Scenic, Architecture, and Travel' started by CarlG, Jun 10, 2013.

1. CarlG

CarlG Mu-43 Regular

Jun 6, 2013
    Tampa, FL
    Carl
    Well, allow me to first start off by saying "hello" to this community. I am new to this forum since last week. I just sold all of my Canon DSLR gear (5D2 and assorted L lenses) in favor of an E-M5 and a couple of starter lenses (25 1.4, 45 1.8 and 12 2.0 - still waiting for the 12 2.0 to arrive). I purchased this setup about a week ago so I'm still learning the in's and out's that go along with any new system. As I'm getting older, the thought (and my back) of carrying around the full DSLR setup in my travels was something I no longer wanted to deal with. The OM-D looked like a dream come true.

My passion is primarily landscapes and like to print large when I can (i.e., 18x24). I am on the prowl for a wide angle lens in the MFT format that has a serious reputation for being sharp, edge-to-edge. The one thing about the Canon 16-35 MK II that killed me was how soft the corners were. Because of that, I'm a stickler for edge sharpness.

So, being the newb here I'll ask the newb question - what do you guys/gals recommend?

Thanks in advance - I think I'm going to like this forum!! :)

2. Bokeh Diem

Bokeh Diem Mu-43 Top Veteran

Mar 14, 2010
    Toronto
  3. CarlG

CarlG Mu-43 Regular

Jun 6, 2013
    Tampa, FL
    Carl
    Thanks!! I had looked at the 7-14 but I am a firm believer of filters when shooting landscapses, including a C-PL and ND. If I don't have an option to use a filter on a lens such as the 7-14, I don't want to spend that kind of $$ and be limited. Nice image, btw!!

4. newbert

newbert Mu-43 Veteran

Jul 22, 2012
    Glens Falls, NY