.orf RAW files on omd em1 are different sizes?

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by sailor, Jan 22, 2014.

1. sailor

sailor New to Mu-43

Jan 19, 2014
    I am new to this camera....and I am taking a macro photo class. one assignment was to try to use focus stacking software....when I uploaded my photos... to the trial version....I got the error message that some of the files were different sizes. And they are! most are 23.2 MB...the "outlier" is 10.7.....

However, all photos were taken within minutes of each other..same lens, etc. The only different variable was the f stops......

my teacher is puzzled.......

can any one here help? thanks....I really like my olympus omd em1...However...most people are still Nikon/Canon folks and can offer little trouble shooting advice.

thanks

sailor

2. mattia

mattia Mu-43 Hall of Famer

May 3, 2012
    The Netherlands
    You're sure you didn't bump any settings/not shooting RAW files? Different ISO levels, difference scene composition all affect file size, but this seems pretty extreme. What was the outlier, specifically? Particularly high aperture number? ISO? Something else?

Honestly, if the resolution is the same I really don't see why the software should complain about file size, as long as resolution is the same between shots.

3. RAH

RAH Mu-43 Veteran

Dec 1, 2013
    New Hampshire
    Rich
    I agree. It is the resolution - the height and width of the image in pixels - that you should be paying attention to. The size of the image file in MB is pretty meaningless. It seems that somehow the resolution must have gotten changed, because otherwise the software should not be complaining about the differing files.

4. photo_owl

photo_owl Mu-43 Regular

Nov 8, 2013
    I usually see a variation of up to 10% in RAW file size over a shoot, which when looking at the files is normally fo obvious reasons (brightness and detail with the former the biggest) although mine are generally around 14MB.