1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Ordered Metz 44 AF-1 Digital for E-PL5, looking for suggestions

Discussion in 'Accessories' started by jyc860923, Nov 29, 2012.

1. jyc860923

jyc860923 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 28, 2012
    Shenyang, China
    贾一川
    Hi all

So it's going to be my first strobe for system cameras, checked this and it provides TTL compatibility and auto zoom, swivel and tilt, and the wide-angle diffuser and reflector card as well, guess all these would be more than enough for me. Now I'm waiting till it arrives tomorrow, and I'm planning to use it in weddings, indoor and night shooting, any suggestions?

I'm new to using such more powerful flash than, say integrated camera flashes, so a little too excited to know what to do and ask at the moment:yahoo:
    paid 1000RMB (160USD) for this

2. oldracer

oldracer Mu-43 All-Pro

Oct 1, 2010
    USA
    Avoid using it on the camera. Spend some time here: Strobist

• Like Like x 1
  3. 0dBm

0dBm Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 30, 2011
    Western United States
    I own two Metz 58s (AF1-1 & AF-2).

Get a least four sets of low-discharge-rate AA cells, a flash bracket, and a bigger bounce card than what is built-in.

For weddings, tape four AAs together so that you can simply place them all at once in the 44's battery compartment.

With disposable alkaline cells, the color temperature Metz flash units will gravitate towards the warm ("orangy") end of the color spectrum as the voltage drops with usage; from a nominal 5000 Kelvin (new cells at ~1.5 volts to about 3000 Kelvin at <1 volt. NiMh cells fresh off the charge are about 1.25 volts so the voltage drop-off is not so drastic.

Get some gels: 1/2 CTO, full CTO, 1/2 CTS, and full CTS. One of each. Use gaffers tape to mount them to them to the flash head. Become intimate with the use and adjustment of the manual white balance settings of your camera.

Learn to use manual mode on the flash while using manual mode on the camera.