1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

Optimizing In-Camera JPEG Settings on Panasonic Bodies

Discussion in 'Panasonic Cameras' started by wanjeyin, Mar 30, 2011.

1. wanjeyin

wanjeyin Mu-43 Regular

Mar 1, 2011
    Hi all,

Time to take words into action, hence this "mini-database" thread. I implore you all to please keep this thread pure and true to its intent as a "mini-database" of settings and to keep it free from the RAW vs. JPEG debating. That's what the other threads are for.

I'm an amateur and all I'm interested is getting the most out of my camera.

I propose that your settings be summarized as follows:

Camera:
    - Panasonic G1/G2/G10/GF1/GF2/GH1/GH2 etc.

Mode:
    - PASMC etc.......

White Balance:
    - Auto/Sunny/Cloudy etc....

WB Settings:
    - M =
    - G =
    - Y =
    - B =

Film Mode:
    - Preset/My Film

My Film Settings:
    - Contrast =
    - Sharpness =
    - Saturation =
    - Noise Reduction =

User Comments:
    - General observations and comments

Using PJohngren's example here's what I gather:

Camera:
    - Panasonic GF1

Mode:
    - Custom

White Balance:
    - Cloudy

WB Settings:
    - M = +2
    - G =
    - Y =
    - B = +1

Film Mode:
    - My Film

My Film Settings:
    - Contrast = -1
    - Sharpening = +2
    - Saturation = +1
    - Noise Reduction = -2

User Comments:
    I myself have a GF1. I agree with the prevailing view regarding the stock standard setting. Standard is standard! Colours aren't meant to "pop" or "stand-out". Standard is merely meant to represent closely to what we actually see, and not what we like to see. Having said that I appreciate all the efforts going on here to optimize the JPEGs coming out from the camera.

Regards,
    AJW

• Like Like x 1
  2. mick / Lumix

mick / Lumix Guest

Oct 3, 2010
    Cameras : G1 & GF1

Standard film
    WB auto
    contrast 0
    saturation 0
    sharpness + 2
    nr 0