1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

opinions wanted...

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by adrenalinerush, Dec 19, 2014.

1. adrenalinerush

adrenalinerush New to Mu-43

Dec 19, 2014
    Hi all,

I'm a newbie to this forum but have browsed time to time as a guest. I have a question and was wondering if i can get some feedback... so currently i own an epl2 and have the 25mm 1.8 lens along with the kit lens. Would my best move be to upgrade to an em10 or the epl5 or should i just keep the epl2 and buy another lens (possibly the 60mm macro)? Any feedback would be appreciated.

I just want to be able to take quality pics of my newborn son and be able to use the camera in low light settings. I'm not a photographer or even have a background in it. Thanks!

2. agentlossing

agentlossing Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jun 26, 2013
    Andrew Lossing
    I think you have an excellent lens already, and the epl2 is a pretty old body... Might be a good time to upgrade to a more recent camera with better high ISO capability and ergonomics. If you want a 60mm, try the excellent Sigma version.

Sent from my Nexus 6 using Mu-43 mobile app

3. budeny

budeny Mu-43 All-Pro

Mar 4, 2014
    Boulder, CO
    Body upgrade is most obvious move as em10/epl5 will perform about 2 stops better than epl2.
    I'm not sure why would you want 60mm f/2.8 lens for your purposes - imo, 45mm f/1.8 has great price and faster by 1.5 stop.

PS: If budget/size/weight are out of considerations, then Panasonic 42.5 f/1.2 is the best m43 native lens you can get now for kid's shots.

4. Robstar1963

Robstar1963 Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 10, 2011
    Isle of Wight England UK
    Robert (Rob)
    Hi
    +1 for the EM10 option and the 45mm f1.8 rather than the 60mm
    Regards
    Rob

• Like Like x 2
  5. Jfrader

Jfrader Guest