[OPINION] Shooting a wedding with a M43 Camera - YES YOU CAN!

Discussion in 'Street, Documentary, and Portrait' started by adic88, May 27, 2012.

1. adic88

adic88 Mu-43 Regular

May 25, 2012
    I'm not a pro, just an enthusiast. YMMV. Originally published on my blog, reprinting here to share with the M43 community. Click through the images below for the larger versions on Flickr.

Well, the Olympus OM-D EM-5 is a compact camera in terms of size. But it delivers fabulous results, comparable to what you'll find with a DSLR. Good enough for a wedding shoot, certainly.

1. [​IMG]
    P5260001-Edit by aizuddindanian, on Flickr

I ran into a friend the other day, a professional photographer. We both happened to be covering the same event. He was decked out in a rapid sling body harness with at least 20 lbs of gear hanging on him. Two bodies, Canon 1Ds, 24-70mm on one, 135mm on the other, both with 580EX speedlights, then several other lenses in pouches, and a monopod hanging off his belt. I had a tiny Olympus OM-D EM-5 hanging around my neck, a pancake 14mm. I didn't even have a flash attached.

I looked at him, and he looked at me. We both had a good laugh. He asked, "I've heard a lot about the OM-D, how does it handle?" I replied, "It's great." He smiled.

"Why don't you use a smaller setup when you go on assignment?"
    "I wish i could. It's not what the client expects. If i don't come looking like this *decked out*, then they don't think i'm doing my job."

And there lies the rub, isn't it? It's not that smaller, lighter cameras are not good enough; i believe we've past the level of photographic adequacy a long time ago -- the limiting factor now is not the camera, but the photographer. But it's because clients expect an uber geared warrior otherwise the photographs simply can't be good.

2. [​IMG]
    P5260005-Edit by aizuddindanian, on Flickr

3. [​IMG]
    P5260008-Edit by aizuddindanian, on Flickr