Opinion on upgrade decision (g5 vs. e-pl5)

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by tpitch14, Mar 6, 2013.

1. tpitch14

tpitch14 Mu-43 Regular

Mar 31, 2010
    PA
    Greetings forum,

I'm a "new" user (coming back after a long hiatus) looking for some opinions on my next camera body. I was an early adopter to :43:, picking up an E-PL1 that has served me well over the past few years. It was a step up for me from the point and shoot world- I'm still a novice but am really interested in advancing my photographic skills. With that said, I had assembled a kit that includes the Oly 45-150 and the Pana 20 to go along with my kit lens, and have had decent success along the way.

Now I'd like to move into a new generation of the technology, and have narrowed my choices to the G5 and the e-pl5. I have scoured the internet, looking at reviews, reading up on this forum, and have now finally got to have a hands on with both. The following is what I've discovered:

- For the G5, I love the ergonomics, the user friendly interface, and the great detail the LCD provides. The free angle swivel is nice, but will take a bit of getting used to as a semi "camcorder" mode. I'm not 100% on having to have the built in flash and VF, they are simply nice to have for me. Some concerns I have with it are: the battery life, as I've read it's pretty poor. I also find that the touch focusing is a bit worse here than on the Oly (both are slow and noisy with the Pana 20 of course). Another thing, I don't know how much of an effect the lens OIS will have an effect on an amateur such as myself, vs. having the IBIS I've come to get used to. I've heard that it shouldn't affect the 20 too much due to the shorter focal length? Lastly, I'm curious as to what the real difference is in sensor capability between the two- is the G5 an appreciable drop off from the e-pl5, something that an untrained eye would find blatantly obvious disadvantages in?

Now to the flipside: