1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

Online Backup Solution

Discussion in 'Open Discussion' started by quatchi, Aug 8, 2014.

1. quatchi

quatchi Mu-43 Veteran

May 17, 2012
    Munich, Germany
    Hey,

I am currently searching for an affordable online backup solution for my photos (RAW, JPEG, TIFF, ...). At the moment I have accumulated around 500GB of photos, videos snippets and other stuff which should go into the backup. My current backup strategy consists of an external 2,5" hard drive (the working drive), a time machine backup to a 2,5" hard drive connected to my Airport Express and a CarbonCopy clone of the working drive to another 2,5" external drive. The CarbonCopy backup is only executed once in a while as I have the harddrive at my work place - an off-site backup so to speak.

From that regard, I consider myself as fairly safe in terms of loosing my photos. I have to state here that I am not working as a photographer. I am a pure amateur, happily snapping some pictures. :)
    The thing is, however, that my "off-site" backup is only performed very unregularily. Only once a quarter I remember to bring the harddrive from work and run CarbonCopy. Additionally, I am not sure whether our IT department is so happy about bringing alien harddrives to work, even though I am not connecting it to my work PC.