1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

One brand lens on other brand body - ?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by speedandstyle, Dec 1, 2011.

1. speedandstyle

speedandstyle Mu-43 Hall of Famer

I am new to the micro 4/3 world and shopping for what to get. Are there any issues with fitting one brand of lenses on the other brand of bodies? The only thing I have found so far is that each brand uses a different anti-vibration setup with Panasonic's built in to the lens and Olympus' built into the body. Thus Oly lenses would not have any on a Panny body - correct? Any other issues? thanks.

• Like Like x 1
  2. flash

flash Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Apr 29, 2010
    1 hour from Sydney Australia.
    Gordon
    The image stabilisation issue is about it. There may also be some firmware upgrade isues with some lenses. I mix and match all the time with no problems.

Gordon

3. Dave in Wales

Dave in Wales Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 5, 2011
    West Wales
    Hello and welcome,

Well done, I'm new to :43: myself and that's a question I've been meaning to ask for ages.

D in W

4. meyerweb

meyerweb Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Sep 5, 2011
    One other small difference. Panasonic lenses on Panasonic bodies also get digital correction for chromatic aberration (generally seen as color fringes, usually purple, on the edges of dark items against a very bright background).

Oly lenses don't encode for this correction.

5. labcoatguy

labcoatguy Mu-43 Regular

Jan 23, 2011
    Cambridge, MA, US
    Another issue is with in-camera correction of distortion and chromatic aberration; this varies from lens to lens and body to body.

6. speedandstyle

speedandstyle Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Thanks for all the replies. Sounds like it won't be an issue for the most part. Now to just decide which ones and then saving up the funds!:biggrin:

7. WT21

WT21 Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 19, 2010
    Boston