1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

On the street with the 9-18mm

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by dcassat, Jan 3, 2012.

1. dcassat

dcassat Mu-43 Veteran

Nov 16, 2011
    Cloverdale,CA
    I'm looking for some tips from those of you that have used the Olympus 9-18mm extensively especially in street or architectural photography.

I use it in landscape a lot and really enjoy the results.

I recently had a opportunity to use it in photographing buildings in a small town nearby.

I'm not sure whether I should be amazed or confused as I find I'm feeling both.

I don't think examples are necessary as those of you who know the lens will understand the experience of it regarding wide angle distortion. It's not a surprise to me but I have limited experience knowing when to correct for it in PP (Lightroom) and when to leave the effect that it provides - certainly at 9mm.

So without going further down the rabbit hole about how much I don't know about it, perhaps some of you have opinion and tips about the best handling of wide angles in such scenarios. I realize that there is a subjective/objective line here.

Just let me have what you've got! :smile:

2. speltrong

speltrong Mu-43 Veteran

May 8, 2011
    Northern California
    I have the Panasonic 7-14mm which has a similar focal range, and I use it to street shoot quite a bit now. My advice: Shoot at 7mm (9mm in your case), Get stable, get low, get close. The most interesting distortion happens at the corners and edges, so take time to line your shot up right so you don't have to crop or rotate. My favorite shots I've taken with this lens are:

1. having it on the ground angled up at a building or indoor space
    2. sticking it in some small, enclosed area that still lets in light