1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

OMD with Leica Lenses

Discussion in 'Adapted Lenses' started by tl1234, Mar 17, 2013.

1. tl1234

tl1234 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 5, 2013
    Hi I'm new to the OMD and I was wondering if leica lenses work well with this camera. Does anyone have an experience with this setup?

Thanks!

2. JohnF

JohnF Mu-43 Regular

Apr 1, 2010
    Oberursel, Germany
    In a word: yes. :)

3. tl1234

tl1234 Mu-43 Regular

Feb 5, 2013
    Hi thanks for the quick reply. Would you have tried it with the newer or the older versions? And how so they compare to the native Oly m43 lenses?

4. JohnF

JohnF Mu-43 Regular

Apr 1, 2010
    Oberursel, Germany
    I have three Leica lenses: 100 f4 macro on bellows, 400 f6.3 "trombone" and 180 f3.4 APO. Given that none of these has a direct counterpart to any Oly digital lenses, there's no comparison as such.

That said: the 400 is outstanding, especially with a 2x Leica extender, for extreme telephotography. Tripod mount is a must. The 100 f4 is extremely sharp, but diffraction shows up around f11 or so. Depth of field is a real problem and I haven't had the time to work out a work flow with stacking. The 180 f3.4 is extremely sharp and contrasty, but then again, it was designed to be the sharpest lens possible for the US Navy to take pictures of Soviet ships at sea.

All of mine are of the significantly older variety, nothing after 1975 or so. All rather battered as well, but optically just fine. I've contemplated getting a 50 f2 Summicron, but found the 4/3 50mm macro f2 to be equal a performer, and autofocus to boot. Hence I've stayed with that. Not that I don't lust after a 90 f2 APO, but that is simply out of my price range...

5. iGonzoid

iGonzoid Mu-43 Veteran

Feb 6, 2011
    Tasmania, Australia