OMD - Need some Advice Image Clarity/Quality

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Trinurse, Jun 26, 2013.

1. Trinurse

Trinurse Mu-43 Regular

Feb 26, 2011
    Hello Everyone,
    I've been using my OMD now for several months and absolutely love it. However, in my attempt to create HDR (and waterfall blended) images I've noticed in 100% crops that the clarity of items in the crop just doesn't seem quite up to speed. Noticeable blurriness and vagueness of tree, rocks, etc.
    I always use a weighted tripod and try to keep the ISO below 2500.

I've included a crop of the image as an example.
    I'm using the Olympus (Zuiko)9-18 although I see I was at f5.0 and should have been down to f.8-10 or so.
    Is this the image quality I should expect or (as I suspect) am I doing something wrong.

This is the Exif info:
    Filename - P6071393 crop.tif
    ImageWidth - 1512
    ImageLength - 1134
    BitsPerSample - 8 8 8
    Compression - 1 (None)
    PhotometricInterpretation - 2
    ImageDescription - OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
    Model - E-M5
    StripOffset - 394
    Orientation - Top left
    SamplesPerPixel - 3
    RowsPerStrip - 14
    StripByteCount - 718
    XResolution - 350
    YResolution - 350
    PlanarConfiguration - 1
    ResolutionUnit - Inch
    Software - OLYMPUS Viewer 3 1.01W
    DateTime - 2013:06:26 13:17:39
    Artist - John Schiller
    Copyright - John Schiller
    IPTC/NAA - 1230
    ExifOffset - 1298
    InterColorProfile - 16808
    ExposureTime - 1/20 seconds
    FNumber - 5.00
    ExposureProgram - Manual control
    ISOSpeedRatings - 2500
    ExifVersion - 0230
    DateTimeOriginal - 2013:06:07 10:47:31
    DateTimeDigitized - 2013:06:07 10:47:31
    ExposureBiasValue - 0.00
    MaxApertureValue - F 4.00
    MeteringMode - Center weighted average
    LightSource - Auto
    Flash - Flash not fired, auto mode
    FocalLength - 9 mm
    UserComment -
    FlashPixVersion - 0100
    ColorSpace - sRGB