1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

OMD Lens help

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Dan1942, Apr 27, 2012.

1. Dan1942

Dan1942 Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 25, 2012
    I am new to the whole M 4/3 thing and now have a OMD EM5 (black) with the 14-42mm kit lens on the way (should be shipping today).
    I need some suggestions on lenses I have a budget of about 2600 (including the Camera) money that I had put aside for a Canon 5D II. Here is what I was thinking.
    12mm F2 Oly
    45mm 1.8 Oly
    Plus I am trying to find the grip in stock somewhere. That puts me at around 2600. I am looking at mostly taking pictures of my kids 5 and 7 their various sports and landscape as well. I also will trying to do some larger prints with it as I have a epson pro 7900.
    The big question is the 12mm at 800.00 worth it compared to maybe getting 2 other primes for that amount of money?
    THanks in advance for your time and help!
    Dan

2. everythingsablur

everythingsablur Mu-43 Veteran

Aug 4, 2010
    Toronto, ON
    Many people consider the 12 one of the best lenses in the platform, up there work the 20 and the PL25. Is it worth $800? Depends if you really value a pretty fast wide angle prime.

If you don't need to be that wide, you can also go with the 14mm f/2.5 for really cheap, then get another lens as well, such as the aforementioned 20 or PL25.

3. dhazeghi

dhazeghi Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Aug 6, 2010
    San Jose, CA
    Dara
    The 12 is a good lens, but the 12-50 kit lens appears decent at the wide end. The main advantages of the 12/2 are wide aperture and fancy manual focus mechanism.

My recommendations:
    -telephoto zoom (Olympus 40-150 or Panasonic 45-200) - reach past 45mm will help for kids and sports, and these are reasonably-priced lenses
    -fast normal (Panasonic 20/1.7 or 25/1.4) - closer quarters or indoors with the kids

DH

4. gsciorio

gsciorio Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 29, 2011