OMD Jpeg Help

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Dan1942, May 7, 2012.

1. Dan1942

Dan1942 Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 25, 2012
    Ok I just received my OMD and took some quick shots with it. Just a quick warning I am completely new to all this but should my shots have this much noise at 500 ISO ??

OMD
    ISO 500
    12mm at f2.0
    1/60
    JPEG Fine
    Vivid setting
    Noise LOW
    warm WB off

Now I know the Exposure is off too but all the images are like this except the ones at ISO 200.
    My old Camera is a Canon 10d and Even at ISO 400 on the old canon it looks better then the OMD. I am sure I just messed something up with it and it user error.

Thanks in advance for any help or suggestions

Attached Files:

2. silversx80

silversx80 Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 27, 2012
    North Carolina
    The main issue is the subject being cast in front of a very bright background. The metering is exposing for an average across the frame, but that background is likely 3-4 stops brighter than your subject. On top of that, auto-gradation is likely playing a role by boosting the shadows and introducing some noticeable noise. Also, there generally is less information stored in the shadows and compensating will show less color depth along with greater noise.

It would help to either place your subject in front of a less bright background, use a fill flash, or switch to spot-metering and risk the blown highlights of the sky for the sake of your subject. You'll notice less noise in your subject by "exposing to the right".

• Like Like x 1
  3. Dan1942

Dan1942 Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 25, 2012
    Thanks! For the reply and taking the time to help!! I know a lot this is all user error on my part.

Here is another shot and the metering was a little better this time but it is at ISO 1250

Attached Files:

4. silversx80

silversx80 Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 27, 2012
    North Carolina