1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

OMD grid

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by richtraff, Aug 8, 2016.

1. richtraff

richtraff New to Mu-43

Jul 25, 2016
    Richard Trafford
    I'm new to this photography game so please bear with me...

I've got the grid set up on my Olympus OMD EM10. It's the one that splits the screen view into thirds...however it's not exactly into thirds.

Am I doing something wrong or is this just how it is?

2. jrsilva

jrsilva Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 1, 2012
    Portugal
    Jaime
    If the EM10 is equal to the EM5 MII than it is how it is.
    When I've changed from Panasonic to Olympus was the first thing I've noticed and find it a bit weird.

3. richtraff

richtraff New to Mu-43

Jul 25, 2016
    Richard Trafford
    Very weird. I thought it was to help newbies like me to get used to 'the rule of thirds'.

I may just ditch the grid and go by own gestimate.

4. Sniksekk

Sniksekk Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 7, 2015
    Never realized that it's not accurate.
    I need to measure this later today.

5. GarethB

GarethB Mu-43 Regular

Jul 21, 2016
    It's called a Phi grid. The rule of thirds grid is actually an approximation of the Phi grid (it's easier to draw and visualize in equal thirds than dividing the frame up to Phi ratio), but its not strictly correct in terms of working to compositional balance when using the golden ratio. Using Phi instead of equal thirds should give you a more natural look.
    A quick google will give you a better understanding than I could quickly explain, but here is one of the first articles that appears in the search results: Divine Composition With Fibonacci's Ratio (The Rule of Thirds on Steroids)

Last edited: Aug 8, 2016
    • Informative Informative x 9
    • Agree Agree x 2
  6. Phocal

Phocal Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Jan 3, 2014