1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

OMD & FL600R use advice

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by boulderjoe, Jun 22, 2013.

1. Indianpeaksjoe

Indianpeaksjoe Mu-43 Top Veteran

Oct 1, 2012
    Colorado
    So I have to admit, I am a flash noob. But I picked up a FL600R at the amazing discount price right now. And was wondering if I could get some advice on the best setup for taking pics of bike riders around dusk...

Using the OMD 1600 iso and the 12mm f2 too many of my shots are looking like this:
    [​IMG]

So with the FL600R should I just throw it in Auto and let it work its magic or would anyone be able to weigh in with some better advice.

Thanks!
    -Joe

2. gnb40

gnb40 Mu-43 Regular

Jul 9, 2011
    Maryland
    Gary
    I'm still learning the Olympus system so I'm not sure how the flash and exposure compenstions interact. So far my experience is that I think when the camera is on one of the auto modes, it attempts to get the correct exposure on the ambient light and then adjusts the flash for fill. If it can't get the ambient exposure right, it just goes for the flash to illuminate the whole scene.

I have a method I used on my Canon equipment that I haven't had time to test on the Olympus to see if it works the same way. Here's something you might want to try... set the flash on Auto (not TTL-Auto). Put your camera on Manual. Set your ISO and the aperture that you want to use (must be in the flashes usable range based on the distance you think you'll be from the bikes). Take a test shot. Check your ambient light. Use the camera's shutter speed to adjust the ambient (background) light exposure. The shutter speed won't effect the flash exposure. Use flash exposure compensation to adjust the flash's level if it needs adjustment.

3. jsalicru

jsalicru New to Mu-43

May 23, 2013
    Try a panning shot instead?

4. usayit

usayit Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Post complete settings.. EXIF has been removed from you photo.