1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

omd em10 mk ii. set up

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by hyy, Jun 22, 2016.

1. hyy

hyy Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 18, 2016
    i am new to photography so i am slow in composing, so is af c a better af for me or ap s? i am afraid by the time i focus & recompose, set my EV etc. the focus will long be unfocused. i m mostly shooting people.

what is a good value for contrast, sharpness and saturation? is 0 fine?

using portrait for photo mode currently. will vivid bring out the photo better?

i have set my brightness for evf n lcd to -2 brightness and highlights to 250 5. as i always felt that the photo is too bright/over expose. is it approriate?

assuming i want to do less post processing works, what will be a better set up.

thank you.

2. MarkRyan

MarkRyan Instagram: @MRSallee

May 3, 2013
    California
    AF-C = Continuous autofocus. IMO, this is much less reliable than AF-S, which = Single autofocus. Especially if your subject is not moving significantly between half-pressing the shutter button and full-pressing the shutter button, AF-S is the way to go.

As for sharpness, contrast, and color settings, it's all personal choice. Personally, I leave the settings very neutral in camera and leave the contrast, color, and sharpness tweaking for post-production on my laptop.

3. hyy

hyy Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 18, 2016
    but isnt af s focus will not be as accurate if i took more than few seconds to take a shot after recomposing n adjusting ev?

since i will be jerking about.

what do you suggest about photo mode? i understand people do post processing works. just wondering if there is any settings that would make my photo look "film" style straight from jpeg

4. TheMenWhoDrawSheeps

TheMenWhoDrawSheeps Mu-43 Regular

Jun 15, 2016
    Here are some shooting styles.%)

The lurker:

You need to learn to Plan ahead, Instead of adjusting on the fly.