1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

OMD EM-5 possible purchaser

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Pokemon, Jun 9, 2012.

1. Pokemon

Pokemon Mu-43 Rookie

May 26, 2012
    Hi everyone!

I'm new here and this is my first thread. I'm seriously considering buying into the micro four thirds set up as I really like a lot of the images I've seen on this forum and also like the compact size of the set up. The OMD seems to be the obvious purchase as a long time ago i use to own the OM2n and loved it!

A few questions:
    WHERE do i get a silver OMD from? They seem sold out everywhere! If you can please direct me to the correct camera shop...:smile:

Which lens or lenses would you recommend? I'm not a wide shooter and have always preferred the 50mm pov more...

Is it a easy camera to figure out? menu etc? I'm a little daunted by the complex menu system as i'm really not a techie!

I apologize if all this has been covered in a previous thread but i couldn't answers to all my questions!

At this point I have no camera gear!

2. costigaj

costigaj New to Mu-43

May 16, 2012
    I got mine at Mikes Camera in Boulder on the Internet. They had them before Amazon and Oly had theirs. As for lenses , the 2 kit lenses are good but if you are willing to spend a little more get a Panasonic 20mm and Zuiko 45mm and you'll be in good shape.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Grinch

Grinch Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jan 9, 2011
    Canada
    If you like the 50mm pov get the 25mm f1.4 lumix you will not be disappointed. In case your not aware m4/3 uses a 2x crop factor, so whatever lens you are investigating the 35mm equivalent is the focal length times 2. If your after a silver body you will have to search around as they seem to be rarer. Good luck in your search, I don't think you will be disappointed with the OMD.

• Like Like x 1
  4. Mikefellh

Mikefellh Mu-43 Top Veteran

Jun 7, 2012
    Toronto, Canada