1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

OMD 12-50 kit lens, Macro questions?

Discussion in 'Native Lenses' started by littleMT, Jun 29, 2012.

1. littleMT

littleMT Mu-43 All-Pro

Apr 8, 2012
    Lucille Sanchez
    As many know, I have 2 E-PL1's...

my question is, how do I use this lens in macro?

what focal length should be used, at the wide 12 or the zoomed 50mm?

how close should I get to the subject?

I have never used a macro lens, and being a newbie I haven't a clue..

2. DeeJayK

DeeJayK Mu-43 Hall of Famer

Feb 8, 2011
    Pacific Northwest, USA
    Keith
    The way I understand it is that the 12-50 has a macro mode which shoots at around 40-45mm. I believe there's a macro button on the side of the lens which you would want to depress and hold whilst zooming the lens until you see the word "macro" in the little window.

• Like Like x 2
  3. Tosh

Tosh Mu-43 Regular

Apr 23, 2012
    • Like Like x 3
  4. MikeB

MikeB Mu-43 Regular

Jun 10, 2010
    Atlanta, GA
    To put the lens into macro mode, you hold down the macro button and push the zoom ring forwards. The word 'Macro' will appear in the little window when you get it right. You'll be locked into a 43mm zoom position, so there's no choice there. And you get as close the the subject as possible while still allowing focus. The actual minimum focus distance is pretty short, about 2/3rds the length of the lens itself.

• Like Like x 4
  5. KellyinPA

KellyinPA Mu-43 Regular

Jun 2, 2011
    Thanks, MIkeB, for being more helpful than the manual.

I was pressing and releasing the Macro button, and then pushing the zoom ring forward, and not being able to focus more closely. When holding the Macro button and pushing the zoom ring, it works fine. I don't see the word "Macro" appearing anywhere, but the focal length indicator is locked at 43 mm, and I can focus within a few inches.

6. David A

David A Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 30, 2011
    Brisbane, Australia