1. Reminder: Please user our affiliate links to get to your favorite stores for holiday shopping!

om-d (+zoom) vs X-E1+18-55

Discussion in 'This or That? (MFT only)' started by shawngibson, Mar 14, 2013.

1. shawngibson

shawngibson Mu-43 Regular

Aug 9, 2010
    Hi guys, been a long time:)

I've owned a LOT of cameras, from MF film to FF Canon to teeny-weeny PS cameras. I also do a LOT of Photoshop work, and can fix many things, if the image is good. If there are too many bad variables, I can not fix it.

I have changed focus lately, and need a camera that allows me to create images for painting, and I do not like DSLRs. I've recently owned (and sold unfortunately) both the E-P2 and D7000. They both performed admirably, IQ wise.

The EP-2 reminded me of my Contax S2 and Oly 35 SP. The D7000 reminded me of all the bad Canons I bought once the world went digital. Gimme a Nikon F4s with a D800 sensor, for $2000, please. But I digress.

As a photographer, I've always owned primes. I've only ever had 2 zooms, and one was the bundled kit lens, which I gave to the cats to play with:)

But things are different now. I paint people, usually one person in the composition. But in order to get the detail, I need to make my composition, and then ZOOM into specific areas, ie hands, face, hair, etc. I do anatomically-correct work, so when I don't have detail, I don't have a painting. But having said that, I use a Manfrotto 303SPH, full 360 VR head, so I can make as many images as needed, long as my subject can hold her breath lol. I can stitch from there.

Sorry for the long preamble. My question is:

I've a limited budget. Can't afford both the OM-D and the Pany 14-50/2.8-3.5. I can afford the X-E1 and the 18-55, or the OM-d and the kit zoom. It will be a 1-lens system, and I'll be carrying it everywhere. When I have someone to paint, I'll use the head, and stitch.