OM-D, Understanding the histogram under the Fn2 button.

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by Dave in Wales, Jul 9, 2012.

1. Dave in Wales

Dave in Wales Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 5, 2011
    West Wales
    I've never used histograms before but thought I have a dabble.

The 'normal' histogram I can understand but the one under the Fn2 button is a curve that when changed results in plus/minus highlight/shadow values appearing on the SCP.

I'm probable being a bit thick but what's that all about, I can find nothing in the manual to explain this.

Pointers to a link would be nice.

2. DekHog

DekHog Mu-43 Top Veteran

May 3, 2011
    Dave, I thought you sold the OM-D?
  3. Luckypenguin

Luckypenguin .

Oct 9, 2010
    Brisbane, Australia
    It's a jpeg tone curve adjustment tool. You can use it to raise or lower highlights and shadows with more finesse than the normal contrast adjustment. It's a "live" tool so that you can see the effects of the adjustments on the screen or viewfinder.
  4. Dave in Wales

Dave in Wales Mu-43 All-Pro

Nov 5, 2011
    West Wales
  5. David A

David A Mu-43 All-Pro

Sep 30, 2011
    Brisbane, Australia
    The curve isn't a histogram.

The histogram displays the distribution of luminance in the image. The left end of the graph is black, the right end is white, and in between you have the multitude of shades of grey that lie in between. The height of the histogram at any point indicates the number of pixels in the image at that level of luminance. It's an indication of how many pixels in the image are to be found at any given level of luminance. What it displays is information about the light coming into the camera.