1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

OM-D Exposure Question

Discussion in 'Olympus Cameras' started by csnoel, Jun 18, 2012.

1. csnoel

csnoel Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 21, 2012
    I must first start off by saying that I am relatively new to photography. I am spending what time I have to better understand how everything works and relates to each other.

I took some shots outside yesterday and noticed when I imported them into Lightroom 4 I am noticing that the shots seem a little over exposed by .30 - .40. It was a sunny clear day and the sun was behind me.

I know that I can make the adjustment on the exposure in the camera but is this typical if the camera is telling me that the exposure is correct?

I hope this makes sense. :)

Thanks

2. Sammyboy

Sammyboy m43 Pro

Oct 26, 2010
    Steeler Country
    Depends on the metering mode you selected. You should refer to page 47 in the manual, it shows examples and explains the metering modes.

3. csnoel

csnoel Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 21, 2012
    I believe that it was set to Digital ESP.

4. Jman

Jman Mu-43 Veteran

Apr 20, 2011
    Columbus, OH
    Your camera doesn't know what 'correct' exposure is. It meters to make the overall tonality of your image middle gray (at least, the area you're metering...if on evaluative, it'll be the whole image, if on spot, the area you meter). If you shoot lighter subjects, it will underexpose them (you need + exposure compensation). If you shoot dark subjects, it will overexpose them (you need - exposure compensation). After a while you will get a good idea about how much EC you need for a given scene given the scene's tonality.

• Like Like x 1
  5. csnoel

csnoel Mu-43 Rookie

Apr 21, 2012
    Thanks

Thanks JMan. That helps me better understand. So much to learn. :)

6. crsnydertx

crsnydertx Mu-43 Top Veteran

Dec 31, 2010
    Houston, TX
    Chuck