1. Reminder: Please use our affiliate links for holiday shopping!

OM-D E-M5 video

Discussion in 'Video to Share' started by Terri, Jun 20, 2012.

1. Terri

Terri Mu-43 Regular

Mar 4, 2012
    I recently purchased an OM-D E-M5. I am a total amateur at shooting video but I gave it a try. I used my 45 f1.8 lens for this shoot. I tried different methods of focusing. I think continuous turned out the worst. Trying to video 5 busy kids with a shallow DOF is a real challenge. If any of you have suggestions on techniques I would love to hear them.

Here is my result.

https://vimeo.com/44384935

2. dagaleaa

dagaleaa Mu-43 Veteran

Jun 4, 2011
    Naples, Fl
    Dawn
    Wonderful video....isn't it so much fun! All of your grandchildren are so beautiful. I have an OM-D too, but have not experimented with the video yet. I also have a Panasonic GH2 and have experimented with it!! Here is a small video I did of my granddaughter Phebe for her first birthday in May of this year!
    <iframe src="https://player.vimeo.com/video/41798562" width="500" height="281" frameborder="0" webkitAllowFullScreen mozallowfullscreen allowFullScreen></iframe> <p><a href="http://vimeo.com/41798562">Happy Birthday to Phebe!!!</a> from <a href="http://vimeo.com/dawnh">Dawn Harviel</a> on <a href="http://vimeo.com">Vimeo</a>.</p>

3. Livnius

Livnius Super Moderator

Jul 7, 2011
    Melbourne. Australia
    Joe
    Hi Terri.

I don't shoot all that much video myself so I am sure there will be others here who may have more to offer, but in my experience shooting video with the GF1, GX1 and now the EM5 is that the various AF modes are a little unreliable on all of them. Even when the AF locks onto the subject I want...it'll at times wonder off, even if only momentarily, and I find the result a little distracting.